2017 International Workshop on Networking BigData Oriented Systems (NetBOS)
October 10~13, 2017 Toronto, Canada


BigData oriented processing systems, such as Hadoop, Spark, Storm, PowerGraph etc. are widely adopted by the industry because they offer good scalability, high performance, and high resource efficiency to provide infrastructures for BigData applications. The 2017 International Workshop on Networking BigData Oriented Systems (in conjunction with ICNP 2017) provides the researchers with an outstanding opportunity for presenting their latest work on the issues in all aspects of BigData Oriented Systems (processing, networking, storage, etc.)

Topics of Interest

Topics of interest include, but are not limited to:

  • Measurement of network usage pattern of BigData systems
  • Networking challenges with new virtualization technologies (i.e, Container, NFV) in BigData systems
  • Opportunities of new networking options (e.g., RDMA) in BigData system
  • Application layer networking protocols for BigData systems
  • In-rack BigData systems with consolidated compute/network/storage design
  • Networking challenges for new storage technologies (I.e, NVMe over Fabric) in BigData systems
  • Application driven networks
  • Datacenter networking challenge for BigData
  • WAN networking challenge for BigData
  • Parallel and Distributed graph processing
  • Distributed real-time stream processing systems
  • Incremental graph computations
  • Cloud storage systems
  • Data deduplication
  • Delta-based BigData storage systems
  • Fault Tolerance in BigData systems
  • Large-scale BigData application
  • Security of BigData systems

Call for papers

Click here for The PDF Version.

Important dates

  • Paper submission: August 1st, 2017 (23:59 p.m. EDT) August 5th, 2017 (23:59 p.m. EDT) (firm deadline, no more extensions)
  • Paper notification: August 22nd, 2017
  • Camera ready: September 1st, 2017


Steering CommitteeChairs:

  • Jon Crowcroft, University of Cambridge, UK
  • David Meyer, Brocade Communications, USA
  • K. K. Ramakrishnan, University of California, Riverside, USA
  • Nicholas Zhang, Huawei Technologies, China

General Chairs:

  • Hai Jin, Huazhong University of Science and Technology, China
  • Zhili Zhang, University of Minnesota, USA

Program Committee Chairs:

  • Chen Tian, Nanjing University, China
  • Hanhua Chen, Huazhong University of Science and Technology, China

Program Committee: (continuously being updated)

  • Yungang Bao, Institute of Computing Technology, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China
  • Marco Canini, King Abdullah University of Science and Technology, Saudi Arabia
  • Haibo Chen, Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China
  • Bin Cheng, NEC Laboratories Europe, Germany
  • Yong Cui, Tsinghua University, China
  • Deke Guo, National University of Defense Technology, China
  • Bingsheng He, National University of Singapore, Singapore
  • Chengchen Hu, Xi'an Jiaotong University, China
  • Chunming Hu, Beihang University, China
  • Yu Hua, Huazhong University of Science and Technology, China
  • Shadi Ibrahim, Inria, France
  • David Koll, University of Goettingen, Germany
  • Wujun Li, Nanjing University, China
  • Zhenhua Li, Tsinghua University, China
  • Fangming Liu, Huazhong University of Science and Technology, China
  • Hongqiang Liu, Microsoft Research, USA
  • Yingwei Luo, Peking University, China
  • Stephan Sigg, Aalto University, Finland
  • Qian Wang, Wuhan University, China
  • Jidong Zhai, Tsinghua University, China
  • Fan Zhang, IBM Watson Group, USA
  • Yiming Zhang, National University of Defense Technology, China
  • Yongluan Zhou, University of Copenhagen, Denmark

Submission Guidelines

Submission Link: https://easychair.org/conferences/?conf=netbos2017

Submitted papers must be no longer than 6 pages including all content and references. All papers must be formatted for printing on US LETTER (8.5" by 11") size paper and must adhere to the IEEE formatting requirements (templates available here: Templates.zip). All submitted manuscripts will be peer-reviewed by the program committee members. At least one author of all the accepted paper should register and give a presentation in the conference.